Five time recipient of Publisher of the Year at the Alberta Book Publishing Awards (1990, 1996, 2003, 2010, 2017), shortlisted for 2020!

Founded in 1977, NeWest Press is one of Canada's first independent literary publishing houses. NeWest publishes literary fiction, literary nonfiction, poetry, and drama, as well as a line of mystery novels, with a particular interest in books by Western Canadian authors. Its Nunatak imprint is the longest-running first-fiction series in Canada.

NeWest Press books have won or been shortlisted for numerous national and international awards, including the Governor General’s Literary Awards, the Giller Prize, the Commonwealth Writers’ Prize, the Canada-Japan Book Award, the Leacock Memorial Medal, the Kobo Emerging Writer Prize, the Danuta Gleed, the Lambda Literary Awards, the Arthur Ellis Awards, the Alcuin Society Awards, the Sunburst Award, the ReLit Awards, as well as being featured on Canada Reads.

In addition to winning the City of Calgary, Edmonton, Regina, Victoria and London Reads prizes, NeWest titles have also won or been shortlisted at regional ceremonies in Alberta, BC, Manitoba, New Brunswick, Quebec, Saskatchewan and the Thomas Raddall Atlantic Fiction Award.

Notable NeWest titles include Blood Relations and Other Plays by Sharon Pollock, Chorus of Mushrooms by Hiromi Goto, Icefields by Thomas Wharton, Diamond Grill by Fred Wah, Playing Dead by Rudy Wiebe, The Widows by Suzette Mayr, All of Baba's Children by Myrna Kostash, The Bone Cage by Angie Abdou, Extensions by Myrna Dey, Dance, Gladys, Dance by Cassie Stocks, The Shore Girl by Fran Kimmel, and Where It Hurts by Sarah de Leeuw. NeWest publishes ten to twelve books each year.

NeWest Press wishes to acknowledge that the land on which we operate is Treaty 6 territory and a traditional meeting ground and home for many Indigenous Peoples, including Cree, Saulteaux, Niitsitapi (Blackfoot), Métis, and Nakota Sioux.